Picture
This large hunk of 1/2" steel columns, plates, and beams is called a router- otherwise known as a CNC machine. This particular router is my timely "pet project" for the time I will be working at CNC Parts Dept.

To a fresh pair of eyes like yours, this router looks fine and dandy. To a hardened engineer, this router looks like absolute garbage! Why? Because it was build out of scrap parts in someone's garage. I will be helping to refurbish this Frankenstein of a CNC. 

Picture
My makeshift workbench is accompanied by top-of-the line gear. This includes screwdrivers of assorted sized, needle-nose pliers, a wrench, some Multi-Purpose Lithium Grease, Mineral Spirits, and some cups. 

With these tools, I am able to work on my side project or fixing up old linear guides (also known as runner blocks). I will be selling these on my own in the future.

Picture
This is a closeup of a linear guide. From all the hours of work I have poured into cleaning these, I have gained much knowledge of the inner workings. As a matter of fact, it takes me an average of 3 hours to completely clean and rebuild a single runner block. 

It takes many hours of troubleshooting whenever I completely reassemble a block and find out there is something causing the ball bearings to jam up. A long process ensues, and I end up taking an entire day learning more about linear guides.

Picture
Here, I am using a caliper to measure a 2.50 mm ball bearing. 2.50 is the standard size that is used in STAR brand linear guides. It is extremely important to remember that there are multiple sizes of ball bearings. This is often a very easy way to stop up a linear guide. 

Trust me, the whole process of taking apart a linear guide and rebuilding it for another hour is not fun, especially if only one of your ball bearings is a different size. 

Picture
I hold many odd-jobs around the company. These incude (but are not limited to):
-Linear guides
-Running errands
-Sweeping
-Cleaning things
-Filing (Very rare case scenario)
-Reaching for things others can't normally reach

Wylie Mitchell
5/31/2013 10:52:08 pm

How much time did it take for you to learn the in's and out's of your internship?

Reply
Joseph Heo
6/3/2013 01:42:38 pm

Was there anything you needed to know prior to you working with all this machinery?

Reply



Leave a Reply.

    Thomas Boudreau

    Thomas Boudreau has an INFJ personality type. INFJs are gentle, caring, complex and highly intuitive individuals. Artistic and creative, they live in a world of hidden meanings and possibilities. Only one percent of the population has an INFJ Personality Type, making it the most rare of all the types.