Have you advocated for yourself during your internship, or seen advocacy demonstrated in other situations?

        Every day at my internship, I ask questions whenever possible. Internship is a learning experience, after all. Although I work on linear guides every day, I am still able to learn/ work on other projects- this gives me a lot of invaluable source of experience. 

        Many-a-time I have asserted my interests while talking with my colleagues. This allows them to understand more about what I hope to get out of my time at Kramer Engineering

        Additionally, when I have nothing to do, I ask around if there is any work I could be of assistance with. I recognize that as an intern, I should be offering myself as help as much as possible. it makes everyone's life easier at the workplace. 
Adam Lusk
6/4/2013 04:52:43 pm

I definitely agree with you, asking questions is always a good thing to do. Internship is about learning as much as you can, and you must be a sponge and soak up the information.

Reply
Ted Hunter
6/4/2013 05:29:01 pm

I like what you said about offering help all the time, it makes a huge impression with your employers and will help you out in the long run.

Reply
Allen
6/5/2013 03:01:39 am

What is one specific question you asked that really helped you?

Reply
Dr P
6/6/2013 05:52:07 am

Thomas, I feel as if there are probably stories you could tell about your self-advocacy, and I'm curious to hear them! I'm with Allen here, I want to know specifics!

Reply
Thomas Boudreau
6/9/2013 04:08:05 pm

During my lunch breaks, I like to talk to Sam about college and what-not. It isn't as much a question, as it was a conversation that helped me out. We talked one day about college- what it takes to become an engineer- and now, my expectations for college have now leveled to a reasonable amount. I was really happy to have learned so much about Engineering college!

Reply
Matt Carlson
6/7/2013 10:02:50 am

Has your internship been everything you hoped it was? Were you disappointed with anything or has it blown your expectations out of the water?

Reply
Wally Spillane
6/9/2013 03:49:57 pm

What has been the biggest take away from your internship so far? Is this something that can only be applied to this line of work or is it transferable to others as well?

Reply
Thomas Boudreau
6/9/2013 04:12:37 pm

So far, I've really appreciated the sheer amount of independence I've been given. While I was working last week, the thought hit me in the head like a truck. "I'm not being told to do much, yet I'm still being expected to maintain responsibility."

My biggest take away has been this: learning that in a job, you are given an amount of independence (to some degree).

Reply



Leave a Reply.

    Thomas Boudreau

    Thomas Boudreau has an INFJ personality type. INFJs are gentle, caring, complex and highly intuitive individuals. Artistic and creative, they live in a world of hidden meanings and possibilities. Only one percent of the population has an INFJ Personality Type, making it the most rare of all the types.